Live from Cairoston

Anavrin

They all visit in my dreams,
these days;
Wombs I’ve met, and others not yet.
And this dawn,
I was withdrawn,
In a playful schmooze with your daughter,
An angel that could have been ours.

Ahh! They must be aligned…
Them stars.
Ten years after we last spoke,
Finally, after a decade apart,
No news,
No muse,
No poem to finish,
And no urge to start.

You were not much older when we first met,
Than she was when I saw her tonight.
Through laughs and tears,
And joys I haven’t felt in years,
We stitched together,
My lonesome bleeding heart.

Comments on: "Anavrin" (4)

  1. what does anavrin mean?

  2. In this case, saying less is more…

  3. make sense:) I will think about it and come up with an idea:)

    the only irritating word in this poem is “womb” for my ears; because it has a history of an ideology that diminish women to their function of maternity and sexuality in the service of men. You sound so patriarchal here.

    On a second note, with a holistic approach to your poetry, one also realizes that you attribute “womb” positive connotations such as rahim/rahman/mercy/tenderness etc. It must be due to its translation in Arabic as rahm, right? But western reader has no such connection and directly raise a feminist flag when hear the word.

    On a third note, yes I do know you don’t care about the reader:))

  4. Yes, I end up referring to the womb a lot, especially because of the Arabic connotations you’ve mentioned. I like exploring the similarities and differences between how I perceive womban (woman) and al-Wombaan (al-raHman/Allah).

Leave a Reply

